The Fine Line of Your Internal Writer

The Fine Line of Your Internal Writer

Unknown.jpeg

Having read many indie books now, I’ve noticed something. A voice, somewhere in my head, starts exploding in rage when these authors commit horrible crimes against me. All right, let me correct myself. This doesn’t only happen with indie books. I’ve encountered this voice while reading industry published books, watching movies, and even reading articles. At first, you might call me nit-picky or too sensitive, but, in fact, I wished others used and honed this side of themselves more.

This other side I’m referring to is your internal barometer for what is good and what is not. It tells you what had quality and what does not. We shouldn’t disregard it, and we shouldn’t placate and make reasons for the things we read, watch, take in. This voice inside is not only useful to enjoy others’ works, but unbelievably essential in determining the level of your own.

Unknown-1.jpeg

How does it work, though? How do I know if my inner voice is right or not?

Those are not easy questions. Some universities have year-long class addressing those very ideas, and usually come up with little to show. Somehow we just know naturally when something is good and bad. But I can tell you this: by reading as much as possible, your inner voice will get sharper and more exact. And by doing so, you can turn this laser of quality toward your work, burning off the fringe and ear-jerking language / dialog / characters that so often fill the pages of weak writing.

I cannot tell you how many books and movies (Marvel) have repelled me for their lack of story or character or dialog. This is not my first rant against it, but it all stems from the fact that I’ve seen what a little more time and a little more attention to what is good can make.

That being said, the best thing for all writers is to hone this trait in themselves. Soon you will see your work improve, strengthen, and with luck, get the praise it deserves.

Unknown-2.jpeg

 

 

3 thoughts on “The Fine Line of Your Internal Writer

Add yours

  1. all true. amateurism. sophomoric lack of filter. in addition to gaining a self-critical ear, writers should pass their work through someone else’s critical hands before going “out there”.

    Like

  2. Very true. Reading is the most accurate and reliable way to learn what good writing is. The other half of the coin is, of course, writing. If you read a lot and write a lot, you’re well on your way to writing well.

    I intend to pursue a degree in English literature, and I expect anything I learn in university to be worth only the amount of reading I do in my spare time.

    Liked by 1 person

Give me your thoughts and comments

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

